View Full Version : CFP: ETRA 2002 Eye Tracking Research & Applications Symposium

Roel Vertegaal
09-24-2001, 12:44 AM
Eye Tracking Research & Applications Symposium 2002
25-27 March 2002, New Orleans, LA, USA

Sponsored by

Corporate sponsors
LC Technologies, Applied Science Laboratories, SensoMotoric Instruments

Reminder & 2nd Call for Participation

Paper submission deadline extended to October 01


Recent advancements in eye tracking technology, specifically the
availability of cheaper, faster, more accurate and easier to use
trackers, have inspired increased eye movement and eye tracking
research efforts. The Eye Tracking Research & Applications (ETRA)
2000 meeting brought together an interdisciplinary group of
researchers from 6 countries. The success of this meeting has laid
the groundwork for future symposia (currently on a biennial
schedule). Since the year 2000 meeting, reports of various novel eye
tracking applications have appeared, ranging from gaze-contingent
Level-Of-Detail computer graphics to Human-Computer Interaction
usability studies, from new psychophysical studies to the development
of new eye tracking technologies. The motivation of the Symposium
calls for the discussion of such theoretical and applied eye tracking
issues. It is hoped this Symposium will foster new, possibly
interdisciplinary, collaborative ties as well as provide a venue for
dissemination of peer-reviewed research results in this burgeoning
research area.


The scope of the Symposium falls within a fairly narrow technological
domain, yet it spans a vast range of interdisciplinary research
activities. There are at least three broad interdisciplinary domains
that stand to benefit from eye tracking research: visual perception,
human-computer interaction, and computer graphics. The amalgamation
of these topics forms a symbiotic relationship. Graphical techniques
provide a means of generating rich sets of visual stimuli ranging
from 2D imagery to 3D immersive virtual worlds while research
exploring visual attention and perception in turn influences the
generation of artificial scenes and worlds. Applications derived from
these disciplines create a powerful human-computer interaction
modality, namely interaction based on knowledge of the user's gaze.
Applied papers reporting on the development or use of eye tracking
systems are sought falling in two main categories: (a) real-time
interactive systems, and (b) off-line diagnostic applications.
Examples of the former include applications where the display or form
of interaction depends on real-time knowledge of the user's direction
of gaze, e.g., ``gaze-contingent'' interactive environments.
Applications falling in the latter category involve recording
real-time eye movements over a visual stimulus for later off-line
analysis, e.g., gaze information supporting usability studies. While
the Eye Tracking Symposium is primarily directed towards eye tracking
applications, papers on theoretical aspects of eye movements and
cognition are also encouraged. Examples may include papers
elucidating the neurological substrate of human vision, visual
attention and eye movements, or papers suggesting techniques for
characterization and automatic identification of eye movements, e.g.,
saccade/fixation detection.

In short, high-quality research papers are sought from anyone
developing or using eye tracking technology. Suggested top-level
paper categories include:

neurological basis for eye movements; eye movement signal characteristics

eye movement characterization, e.g., saccade detection

a description of applied eye tracking systems, e.g., real-time
interactive systems; systems helping people with profound
disabilities; gaze-aware communication and gaze-contingent graphics
systems; off-line diagnostic systems; eye tracking systems supporting
usability studies; scanpath recording systems for eye movement


Date Item
October 01 Submission deadline (extended)
October 29 Acceptance/rejection notice
November 19 Paper authors send to the ACM proceedings producer:
(1) camera-ready versions of papers in PDF format
(2) ACM Copyright Form.
February 25 Registration deadline
March 25-8 Symposium, New Orleans, LA


Full paper submissions must be in PDF format and should be emailed to
Andrew Duchowski (andrewd@vr.clemson.edu) by the submission deadline
(receipt will be confirmed by email).

Papers submitted to the Symposium should conform to the ACM SIGGRAPH
proceedings format. Further details, including MS Word and LaTeX
templates, are available here:

Brief formatting guidelines:

The maximum paper length is eight pages, each page in US Letter
format. The body of the paper should be set in a two-column style,
with each column measuring 3.33 inches (8.46 cm) with a 0.33 inch
(0.84 cm) column gutter between the columns. The "US Letter" page
size measures 8.5 inches (21.59 cm) by 11.0 inches (27.94 cm), with
top, left, and right margins measuring 0.75 inches (1.905 cm), and a
bottom margin of 1.0 inch (2.54 cm). Accepted papers should have a
1.5 inch (3.81 cm) space left blank at the bottom of the left column
on the first page of the paper for the copyright block added during
the printing process. Papers submitted for peer-review should be in
double-blind format: authors' names should be omitted from the front
page, but a separate cover page should be generated including title,
an abstract, keywords and phrases, authors' names, affiliations, plus
a contact author's email address, mailing address, phone number, and
fax number. Note: If you're using the LaTeX format, the review option
will generate the paper in the required review format automatically.


General Chair
Andrew T. Duchowski
Computer Science
Clemson University
Clemson, SC 29634-0974 USA

Program Co-Chairs
John W. Senders
Mech. & Indust. Eng.
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON
Canada M6R 2X5

Roel Vertegaal
Human Media Lab, CISC
Queen's University
Kingston, ON
Canada K7L 3N6

Program Committee:
*Antti Aaltonen (Nokia Research Center, Finland)
*Wendy Ark (IBM Almaden, USA)
*Mike Byrne (Rice University, TX, USA)
*Martha Crosby (University of Hawaii, HI, USA)
*Mike Daily (HRL Laboratories, USA)
*Myron Flickner (IBM Almaden, USA)
*James Gips (Boston College, MA, USA)
*Joe Goldberg (Oracle, USA)
*Brooke Hallowell (Ohio University, OH, USA)
*Tom Hutchinson (University of Virginia, VA, USA)
*Aulikki Hyrskykari (University of Tampere, Finland)
*Poika Isokoski (University of Tampere, Finland)
*Robert Jacob (Tufts University, MA, USA)
*Keith Karn (Xerox, NY, USA)
*David Luebke (University of Virginia, VA, USA)
*Sohel Merchant (University of Iowa, USA)
*Minoru Nakayama (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
*N. Hari Narayanan (Auburn University, AL, USA)
*Wilfried Osberger (Tektronix, USA)
*Carol O'Sullivan (Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland)
*Timo Partala (University of Tempere, Finland)
*Stefano Ramat (Johns Hopkins Hospital, USA)
*Carlo Robino (University of Pavia, Italy)
*Waldemar Rojna (Consultant, Poznan, Poland)
*Tom Schnell (University of Iowa, IA, USA)
*Charles Scialfa (University of Calgary, Canada)
*Trent Victor (Volvo, Sweden)
*David Wooding (University of Derby, UK)
*Daniela Zambarbieri (University of Pavia, Italy)

To unsubscribe send SIGNOFF BIOMCH-L to LISTSERV@nic.surfnet.nl
For information and archives: http://isb.ri.ccf.org/biomch-l