PDA

View Full Version : Help with diploma thesis about camera calibration

Thomas Klein
08-24-2004, 09:51 PM
Dear Biomech-l subscribers,

I'm a sports science student and currently working an my diploma thesis about camera calibration. The objective of my work is to collect several (mainly the most relevant ones) calibration techniques/approaches from the fields of photogrammetry, machine and computer vision, implement them (or use existing freely available implementations) and evaluate them in the context of motion analysis (3D reconstruction).

My purpose is to give a good overview about existing approaches (state of the art) and to describe the posibilities and restrictions (advantages and disadvantages) they provide for the use in motion analysis, with respect to accuracy, efficiency, expenses for setup, volume of calibrated object space (extrapolation issues), use of different calibration targets (planar patterns, 3D patterns, simulated 3D etc., ) and so on. I also want to consider the aspect of applying camera calibration under non-laboratory conditions, which is, as I think, an important fact when using motion analysis for movement analysis in sports.

I have collected an enormous number of publications and literature relating to the subject of camera calibration and selected the following categories, resp. the following representative approaches for further inspection:

A) Linear camera calibration using calibration target

- Standart DLT (originally reported by Abdel-Aziz/Karara)

B) Non-linear approaches using calibration target

- Extended DLT; solving for several parameters modeling lens distorsion (ie. as presented at
www.kwon3d.com)

- Modified DLT version (H. Hatze); Version solving only for the 11 standart DLT-parameters and
extended version taking into account several paramaters for modeling lens distorsion

- R. Tsai's approach solving for 1 additional parameter modeling radial symmetric distorsion