PDA

View Full Version : Call for Papers - 2006 Annual Meeting of IBE



jgilbert92
09-14-2005, 10:58 AM
- Call for Papers -

2006 Annual Meeting of the Institute of Biological Engineering (IBE)
11th Annual Meeting
March 10-12, 2006

Tucson Hilton East, Tucson, Arizona
Hosted by the University of Arizona

About IBE: IBE was established in 1995 to promote broad inquiry in the
fundamental of engineering sciences based on biology and to examine these
at all scale levels - from nano to organism to landscape scales. It encourages
inquiry, application and interest in biological engineering promotes the profes-
sional development of its members. The Institute of Biological Engineering is
striving to form a nexus of engineers and scientists, professional societies,
and industries to inspire remarkable designs that capture features of living
systems. The Institute of Biological Engineering is bringing Engineering to
Life through Biology-Inspired* Engineering.

Who Should Attend: Engineers and scientists interested in creating new know-
ledge that provides greater understanding of engineering principles founded
from the understanding of biology and that promote advances in design to
capture remarkable features of living systems. Students and scientists and
engineers in academia, industry and agencies will find research and develop-
ment in areas other than their specific discipline are catalyst for envisioning
new approaches.

Special Features: Special event opportunities include Hiking in Sabino Canyon,
technical workshops on optical and spectroscopic techniques, tours of local bio-
engineering facilities. Check the IBE web site for details and additional
activities. Special program features include a keynote address on the emerging
field of Synthetic Biology, a Bio-Business Nexus for industry to highlight new
products, and a student Bioethics Competition. (See www.ibeweb.org for details
of bioethics competition.)

Student Poster Competition: Students in engineering and science programs are
especially encouraged to compete for cash awards given to the top three entries.

Papers and Poster Submission: Submit one-page abstract of papers and posters
by December 1, 2005, at www.ibeweb.org Full-length papers are optional and
will be accepted for the Meeting Proceedings through December 15, 2005.


Session Topics. Papers and poster presentations are sought in the following
topics areas:

++ Biology-Inspired* Bioprocessing, Biocatalysis, Biofuels
contact: Sandun Fernando, sf99@abe.msstate.edu, Miss. State Univ.
++ Biological Computing and Biological Modeling.
contact: Jin-Woo Kim, jwkim@uark.edu, University of Arkansas.
++ Biology-Inspired* Imaging
contact: Mark Haidekker, HaidekkerM@missouri.edu, U Missouri-Columbia++ Biology-Inspired* Engineering Education
contact: Leann Lesperance, llespera@binghamton.edu, Binghamton Univ.
and David W. Gatchell d-gatchell@northwestern.edu, Northwestern Univ.
++ Biology-Inspired* Materials
contact: Agnes Ostafin, aostafin@nd.edu, Notre Dame Univ.
++ Biology-Inspired* Nanotechnology
contact: Tim Fisher, tsfisher@purdue.edu, Purdue University
++ Biology-Inspired* Tissue and Cellular Engineering
contact: Todd Monroe, tmonroe@lsu.edu, LSU
++ Biology-Inspired* Sensors and Controls
contact: Sheila Grant, grantsa@missouri.edu, U Missouri-Columbia
++ Sustainable Design for the Human Landscape
contact: Tom Cathcart, tc@abe.msstate.edu, Miss. State Univ.
and David Gattie dgattie@engr.uga.edu, Univ of Georgia
++ Design Methods in Biological & Ecological Engineering
contact: James Dooley, jdooley@seanet.com, Silverbrook Ltd
++ Design Methods in Biol. & Eco. Engineering - Poster Session
contact: James Dooley, jdooley@seanet.com, Silverbrook Ltd
++ Processing of Natural Biological Products
contact: Cristina Sabliov, csabliov@gumbo2.bae.lsu.edu, LSU
++ Commercialization Stories of Biological Research: Bench to Product
contact: Joel Cuello, jcuello@Ag.Arizona.Edu, U Arizona
++ Biological Engr Poster Session & Student Competition
contact: Czar Crofcheck, ccrofche@bae.uky.edu, U Kentucky
++ Bioethics
contacts: Subrata Saha subrata.saha@downstate.edu SUNY Downstate Med Cntr
and Praveen Kolar, pkolar@uga.edu, U Georgia
++ Bio-Business Nexus
contacts: Roy Young, rey2@engr.psu.edu Penn State Univ.
and Jerry Gilbert, jgilbert@provost.msstate.edu Miss. State Univ.


General Program Information: Dr. Terry Walker, Email: walker4@clemson.edu
Local arrangements at the Univ of Arizona: Dr. Mark Riley, Email: riley@ag.arizona.edu

Submit abstracts and register at the IBE website: www.ibeweb.org
Meeting Registration begins Oct. 3rd.

The Institute of Biological Engineering
3650 Annapolis Lane North, Suite 107
Minneapolis, MN 55447-5434
Phone: (763) 765-2300 - FAX: (763) 765-2329