View Full Version : Dynamic Walking 2009 @ SFU June 8 - 11

12-11-2008, 04:38 AM
Dynamic Walking 2009 will be held at Simon Fraser University in
Vancouver, Canada, from June 8 to 11. The aim of this meeting, the
fourth of an annual series, is to provide insight into the fundamental
principles that underlie legged locomotion. Topics central to dynamic
walking include energetics, stability, predictive principles and
models, dynamic modeling, empirical data with a conceptual tie in,
robot successes and failures. The dynamic walking approach puts less
emphasis on vision, navigation, motion planning, kinematic data,
kinematic control, and measurements that do not address a basic
concept or principle. Participants are split roughly equally between
students and professors, and between researchers studying human
walking and those designing better walking robots.

To promote open sharing of information, the meetings are organized to
provide as much interaction between participants as possible. The
format is highly informal and fluid, with a single track of
presentations and extensive time scheduled for interaction,
brainstorming and idea sharing. Each day includes an enjoyable and
hands-on tutorial, on topics such as techniques for simulating dynamic
walking and the construction and testing of dynamic walking robots.

The abstract submission deadline is March 1, 2009. The format will be
a single page document to be submitted on-line beginning February 1.
Abstracts will be judged on both quality of research and relevance to
dynamic walking.

Registration and lodging costs will also be posted to the website by
February 1, 2009. We are aiming to substantially offset conference
costs for student and postdoc attendees.

Please subscribe to the newsletter on this page to receive regular
meeting updates.

Chris Atkeson, Carnegie Mellon University
Hugh Herr, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Art Kuo, University of Michigan
Tad McGeer, Aerovel Corporation
David Reinkensmeyer, University of California at Irvine
Andy Ruina, Cornell University
Russ Tedrake, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Martijn Wisse, Delft University of Technology

Max Donelan, Simon Fraser University
Steve Collins, Delft University of Technology