PDA

View Full Version : summary of responses (ACL injury)

jparsons
02-09-2010, 04:45 AM
Hi there,

Last fall, I sent out the following message:

Good morning,

I am a PhD student doing research into jump landing biomechanics and ACL
injury. I was wondering how other researchers doing ACL work have addressed
the ethical issues of re-creating the ACL injury mechanism during their
studies. Has anyone had an injury occur during testing? What types of
safeguards do you put in place when testing potentially injurious movements?

Any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated!
Below is a summary of the responses that I received. Thank you to everyone who contributed - I received only one email documenting an ACL injury during testing.

Sorry for the delay in sending the results...the busy life of a grad student....!

Joanne Parsons
MSc, BMR(PT), CAT(C)
Physiotherapist
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

1. First, apply the concept of "do no harm"
Second, examine your experimental design and determine if you can test your hypothesis in a way that doesn't put the participant at risk.
Your institutional review board for research involving human subjects
most likely provides specifics regarding the risk-benefit relationship
in experimental studies involving human subjects.

2. We haven't done a lot of this, but in the three or four studies we've
conducted the biggest thing was that we kept the drop heights relatively
low. We had people dropping on a sledge in most cases, but
did one where they dropped from the ceiling onto one or two legs.

I guess our main way of insuring safety was to keep the load low, by keeping the drop low.

3. I also do research into jump landing biomechanics and acl injury. Our
studies are approved through IRB because while jump landing is a risky
maneuver for ACL injury, the percentage of landings that actually result in
injury are very, very low. It is considered a not-high risk activity because