PDA

View Full Version : Re: Marker sets and models for the kinematic analysis of lowerlimb amputees

acarman40
04-08-2010, 04:43 PM
JK wrote
>"I was concerned about the appropriateness of the use of several
>of the common models and methods when analysing amputee function,..."
>And "I imagine it may be possible to achieve more reliable/valid
>results (and a system that may be applied more universally) with
>joint centers determined functionally,..."
>And "I suspect that my idea of a universally applied base marker
>set and model may be unrealistic, even given an allowance for
>additional markers/segments for specific analyses,..."

There are alternatives to the traditional minimalist markers sets you mention that involve expanded numbers of markers, are generalized in there design and so can be applied to varying applications and body segments, and are considerably more accurate. I have been using them for about 15 years (when I first started my postgraduate studies in 3D motion analysis).

A rather long explanation follows:

Minimalist markers sets originated in the 70s and 80s (Hayes, Cleveland, Davis, Vaughan) and were a necessity of the time due to available technology; primarily the need to track individual marker paths in 2D camera views, but also due to limited camera numbers (2-4) with relatively poor resolution.

A good summary of these, including intra-examiner reliability is McGinley et al. [1]. When looking at just the intra-examiner reliability, the average 2*95% CI for flexion/extension, abduction/adduction, and internal/external rotation are approximately: [Only the average errors across the gait cycle are reported and not the peak values, which may be 1.5 to 2.0 times higher, see data below].

Hip: 5, 5, 10 degs.
Knee: 7, 5, 12 degs.
Ankle: 6, 10, 7 degs.

If a minimum clinical difference (MCD) is chosen for each rotation:

Hip: 8, 5, 5 degs.
Knee: 5, 5, 5 degs.
Ankle: 7, 5, 5 degs.