PDA

View Full Version : Major new website launched



Alfred Zommers
01-30-1997, 04:45 AM
A major new site devoted to the science of sport and exercise has now
been
added to the web at http://www.sportsci.org

There's heaps of interesting pages at this multidisciplinary site...

NEWS. A monthly magazine. The first month's features include an
article
about erythropoietin by Steve Seiler, a report on a nutrition conference
by
Louise Burke, Ken Daley's Moving Together newsletter, research on
"thinking
out loud" in orienteering by Bjxrn Johansen, Frank Katch's look back at
a
famous exercise scientist, and more.

FORUM. Recent Sportscience mailing-list messages, plus easy ways to do
searches for previous messages, send a new message, subscribe or
unsubscribe.

JOURNAL. A trial format for a top-quality electronic journal devoted to
sport
science, including general guidelines on style and specific guidelines
for
writing reviews.

RESEARCH RESOURCES. Things for researchers and research students,
starting
with How To Give Talks: a set of lecture notes, slides, and some humour
on
this useful topic.

TRAINING & TECHNOLOGY. Peer-reviewed reviews mainly for athletes and
coaches.
We kick off with a look at Strength Shoes.

NET LINKS. Click to get links to sport and exercise science elsewhere
on
the Net, sorted into easy-to-use categories.

NET SEARCH. Look no further for the best place to start your search of
the
Net. We explain and provide search forms for Altavista, Reference.com,
WhoWhere, and more.

Please note that you'll need a Web browser that handles frames, which
means
Netscape 2 or preferably Netscape 3. If you try opening our site with a
browser that can't handle frames, you will be prompted to connect to the
Netscape site to download the latest version of Netscape. We advize
against Internet Explorer, especially version 2, because it has inferior
navigation features and corrupts spacing of Web documents.

By the way, we're very interested in having more people join the team
from
all the human movement disciplines. Check out the site to see how you
could
contribute.

Will Hopkins
for the Sportscience Website Team:

ap958@chebucto.ns.ca Jason Nugent
rroach@rh.dk Rob Roach
106447.3147@compuserve.com Louise Burke
SeagraveLo@aol.com Loren Seagrave
Hunt895WR@aol.com Randy Huntington
drsquat@aol.com Fred Hatfield
Stephen.Seiler@hia.no Stephen Seiler
A.Zommers@bhtafe.edu.au Alfred Zommers
iallison@info.curtin.edu.au Garry Allison
martind@ausport.gov.au David Martin
gloriab@uic.edu Gloria Balague
kdaley@mum.edu Ken Daley
katch@mailsrv-vms.oit.umass.edu Frank Katch
pshewok@bgnet.bgsu.edu Trish Shewokis
WJK3@psu.edu Bill Kraemer
babucher@mtu.edu Brian Bucher
will.hopkins@stonebow.otago.ac.nz Will Hopkins
--
Bye for now,
Alfred.
------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred Zommers
Department of Human Movement, Recreation and Performance
Victoria University
PO Box 14428 MCMC, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
------------------------------------------------------------------
Sportscience web site: http://www.sportsci.org
Home page: http://www.det.bhtafe.edu.au/alfred
alternate email: fred@dingo.vut.edu.au
A.Zommers@bhtafe.edu.au