No announcement yet.

Call for abstracts: Advances in Computational Motor Control

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Call for abstracts: Advances in Computational Motor Control

    This is a forwarded message, please do not reply to me -- use only the address in the posting.

    Krystyna Gielo-Perczak, Biomch-L co-moderator
    -----Original Message-----
    From: Reza Shadmehr [mailto:shadmehr@JHU.EDU]

    Dear colleagues:

    Emo Todorov and I are writing to invite you to a symposium at the Society for Neuroscience conference this year at Orlando. It's titled "Advances in Computational Motor Control" and it takes place on Saturday, Nov. 2, 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM at the convention center in Orlando. The purpose of the meeting is to highlight computational modeling and theories in motor control. This is an opportunity to meet and hear from some of the bright minds in the field.

    The focus of the meeting is very much on submitted abstracts. The abstracts will be reviewed by a panel and ranked. The top 12 or so abstracts will be selected for oral presentation. We want to encourage oral presentation by students who have had a major role in the work described in the abstracts.

    We have set up a web site to facilitate submission of abstracts:

    The deadline for abstract submission is September 20. Abstracts should be no more than one page in length, and may include figures.

    Invited Talks:

    Eb Fetz: Distributed and multiplexed coding of movement parameters in neural populations

    Sandro Mussa-Ivaldi: Learning and adaptive control of arm dynamics

    Jerry Loeb: Model-based analysis of sensorimotor control strategies

    Andy Barto: Reinforcement learning and motor control

    The board of reviewers include:

    Larry Snyder, Peter Strick, Tim Ebner, Eilon Vaadia, Martha Flanders Ketchen Zhang, Camillo Padoa-Schioppa, Paul Cisek, Hagai Bergman, John Kalaska, Andy Barto, Jim Ashe, Yoky Matsuoka, David Ostry, Steve Lisberger, Mitsuo Kawato, Daniel Wolpert, Roberto Caminiti, Andy Mitz, and Pietro Morasso.

    with our best wishes,

    Reza Shadmehr and Emo Todorov

    To unsubscribe send SIGNOFF BIOMCH-L to
    For information and archives: