Frontiers of the Human-Machine Interface
June 28 - July 1, 2005, Chicago, Illinois, USA

*** Submissions are now being accepted (see below for details) ***


The agenda for ICORR 2005 will blend both the basic sciences of rehabilitation robotics and the results of their employment in clinical trials and case studies. Planned themes are:

. Assistive Robotics
. Therapeutic Robotics
. Brain-Machine Interfaces for Rehabilitation
. Robotics in Prosthetics/Orthotics
. Hardware/control developments for Rehabilitation
. Evaluation methods & Clinical Experience
. Biorobotics and Biomimetics
. Sensorimotor Control and Learning

The program consists of oral presentations and poster sessions. Participants are invited to submit papers for peer review on the subjects of interest. Instructions will be sent with the second announcement and will be available soon at the official website.


ICORR 2005 is hosted by the Sensory Motor Performance Program of the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago ( and Northwestern University.


ICORR 2005 will take place in the heart of Chicago's luxurious Magnificent Mile district on the shores of Lake Michigan. Conference activities will take place in the Conference Center in the Feinberg Pavilion of Northwestern Memorial Hospital, in the heart of downtown Chicago.

Blocks of rooms have been reserved at the Wyndham Chicago, Radisson Hotel and Best Western Hotel. The Wyndham Chicago and Radisson Hotel are across the street from the conference center. The Best Western Hotel is located two blocks from the conference center.

The congress will also offer a various social programs (welcome reception, luncheons, tours and excursions, lab tours, and an exceptional gala dinner).


Paolo Dario, Pisa, Italy
John Hollerbach, Salt Lake City, Utah
Andrew Schwartz, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania


ICORR 2005 Executive committee:
James Patton, General Chair, Chicago, IL, USA
Richard F. ff. Weir, Co-Chair, Chicago, IL, USA
Yoky Matsuoka, Scientific Co-Chair, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Yasin Dhaher, Scientific Co-Chair, Chicago, IL, USA
Derek Kamper, Finance Chair, Chicago, IL, USA
Lennie Kahn, Exhibits Chair, Chicago, IL, USA
Moshen Makhsous, International Liaison, Chicago, IL, USA
Daniel Ferris, Awards Chair, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

ICORR 2005 Scientific Program Committee
Machiel Van der Loos, Palo Alto, CA, USA
Dimitar Stefanov, Cardiff, Wales, UK
David J. Reinkensmeyer, Irvine, CA, USA
Hermano Igo Krebs, Cambridge, MA, USA
Jiping He, Tempe, AZ, USA
Just Herder, The Netherlands
Gill Pratt, Needham, MA, USA
Kasuhiro Kosuge , Sendai, Japan
Gerry Colombo, Zurich, Switzerland
Reggie Edgerton, Los Angeles, CA, USA
John F. Soechting, Minneapolis, MN, USA
Stefan Schaal, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Maureen K. Holden, Cambridge, MA, USA
Carolee J. Winstein, Los Angeles, CA, USA

ICORR 2005 Advisory Committee:
W. Zev Rymer (Chair), Chicago, IL, USA
Charles G. Burgar, Temple, TX, USA
Dudley Childress, Evanston, IL, USA
J. Edward Colgate, Evanston, IL, USA
Volker Dietz, Zurich, Switzerland
William Harwin, Reading, England
Neville Hogan, Cambridge, MA, USA
Kevin Lynch, Evanston, IL, USA
Michael Peshkin, Evanston, IL, USA
Tariq Rahman, Wilmington, DE, USA
Elliot Roth, Chicago, IL, USA
Edward Taub, Birmingham, AL, USA
Machiel Van der Loos, Palo Alto, CA, USA

International Steering Committee for ICORR:
Tariq Rahman (Chair), Wilmington, DE, USA
Z. Zenn Bien, Daejeon, Korea
Axel Graeser, Bremen, Germany
William Harwin, Reading, England
Michael Hillman, Bath, England, UK
Machiel Van der Loos, Palo Alto, CA, USA
Richard Mahoney, Mount Laurel, NJ, USA
Mounir Mokhtari, Evry, France
James Patton, Chicago, IL, USA
Dimitar Stefanov, Cardiff, Wales, UK
Noriyuki Tejima, Kyoto, Japan


(this may change if more funding becomes available)

Before April 15:
IEEE member $475
non-member $575
Students & PostDocs $275

After April 15:
IEEE member $575
non-member $675
Students & PostDocs $425


Following the tradition set by previous ICORR meetings, the Organizing Committee does its best to secure funds for conference grants. Such grants may be used to reduce registration fees.

We especially encourage students, disabled investigators, women, minorities and users of these technologies to participate. Special awards will be granted for exceptional papers submitted by these individuals. Please check the website for more information.


Proposals for special sessions should be submitted to the co-chair Richard Weir ( by December 31, 2004.

November 15, 2004: Preliminary Call for Papers
December 2, 2004: On-Line Submission opens
February 4, 2005: Papers Due
March 25, 2005: Acceptance Notifications
April 8, 2005: Travel Awards Announcements
April 14, 2005 IEEE Copyright Forms Due
April 15, 2005: Last Day of Early Registration
May 2, 2005: Final IEEE-Compliant-PDF Deadline


Please see

OR contact:

Mary Ellen Devitt, ICORR 2005 Conference Secretariat
Ph: +01 (312) 238-2910 (ICORR Secretariat)
Fax: +01 (312) 238-2208

We ask you to kindly circulate this announcement to anyone who may be interested.

Please help us make this a conference to remember.

__________________________________________________ ___________________________________
Richard F. ff. Weir, Ph.D.
Co-Chair ICORR 2005

Research Scientist
VA Chicago Health Care System

Research Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Biomedical Engineering Department
Northwestern University McCormick School of Engineering & Applied Science

To unsubscribe send SIGNOFF BIOMCH-L to
For information and archives: