The mission of the European Society of
Biomechanics (ESB) is to promote excellence in
biomechanics research, to foster integration of
clinical and basic science, and to facilitate the
translation of that science to health care and
clinical practice. One way in which ESB supports
its mission and promotes excellence is by
recognition of outstanding members with
prestigious awards given at the biennial ESB
Congress. All ESB members are eligible for the
awards below, except as restricted by specific award criteria.

For detailed information on submissions and
nominations, please refer to the Awards Regulations:

or contact the Awards Committee Chairman:
Prof. Dr. Ralph Mueller
Chair, ESB Awards Committee
Institute for Biomechanics
ETH Zuerich, Moussonstrasse 18
CH-8044 Zuerich, Switzerland

Summary of the Awards Program of the European Society of Biomechanics:

S.M. Perren Research Award
ESB Clinical Biomechanics Award
ESB Student Awards
ESB Poster Award
ESB Travel Awards

presented at the 2002 ESB Congress in Wroclaw,
Poland, and was previously named the ESB Research
Award. This award, which is the most prestigious
award of ESB, will be given to the first author
of the best scientific paper submitted to the
Chairman of the Award Committee. Papers should be
based on original research and be previously
unpublished. The scientific merit of the paper
will be judged by the ESB Award Committee. Papers
should be submitted in the format required for
the Journal of Biomechanics. The award is open to
all areas of biomechanics research and to both
members and non-members. There will also be an
award lecture named in Dr. Perren's honor at each
biennial ESB Congress. The award includes a
honorarium of 10,000 Swiss francs (approx.
€6,000) sponsored by the AO Foundation in
Davos, Switzerland, and a certificate which is
presented after the S.M. Perren Award Lecture at the biennial ESB Congress.

Papers in consideration for the S.M. Perren
Research Award should be sent electronically to
the Chairmen of the ESB Awards Committee. The
deadline for receipt of the paper for the 2008
ESB Congress in Lucerne is December 1, 2007.

established by ESB with the purpose of fostering
the application of Biomechanics to clinically
oriented problems. At every biennial ESB
Conference the Award will be given to the most
meritorious proceeding abstract. Eligibility
includes ESB membership and an indication at the
time of abstract submission that you would like
to compete for the Award. The deadline for
submitting proceeding abstracts to the 16th
Conference of the European Society of
Biomechanics ( will be November 30, 2007.

The selection is made by an ad hoc Award
Committee based both on the quality of the
proceeding abstract and the presentation of the
four selected award finalists at the Conference,
which will be held in 2008 from July 6 to 9 in
Lucerne, Switzerland. The first author receives a
certificate and an amount of 1000 € donated by
Elsevier Science Ltd., the publisher of Clinical
Biomechanics. The award winner will be asked to
prepare a manuscript which is foreseen to be
published in Clinical Biomechanics as the ESB
Clinical Biomechanics Award Paper.

The ESB STUDENT AWARDS were instituted by
Professor Marie-Christine Ho Ba Tho at the 1998
Congress in Toulouse, France, with the purpose to
honor excellence in biomechanics already at a
relatively young age. At every biennial ESB
Congress one first prize Student Award and three
runner up Awards will be given to four students
based on the recommendation of the Awards
Committee selecting the four best proceeding
abstracts for a final presentation at the ESB
Congress and on a secret ballot to select the
first place, which will be held amongst the
meeting delegates attending the award lectures.
The award consists of a certificate for each
winner and 1000 € for the first place and 250
€ for the runners up donated by Elsevier
Science Ltd. For consideration, the candidate
must submit electronically an abstract to both
the conference secretariat and to the Chairman of
the Award Committee before or at the abstract
submission deadline of the next biennial ESB
Congress (November 30, 2007). In addition, a
brief curriculum vitae and a statement signed
electronically by the student's adviser that the
applicant is a deserving candidate and will still
be a doctoral student at the time of the biennial
Congress should be included in the submission.

The ESB POSTER AWARD is given at each biennial
ESB Congress with the purpose of raising the
quality of poster presentations at the meeting.
The selection is made by an ad hoc Poster Award
Committee appointed by the ESB Council and
chaired by the ESB Awards Committee Chairman. The
award consists of a certificate for the winner
and an amount of 300 € donated by Bertec
Corporation. For detailed information on
eligibility, submission and the selection
procedure, please refer to the Awards Regulations
or contact the Awards Committee Chairman.

Up to eight ESB TRAVEL AWARDS will be given to
the worthiest applicants based on the selection
made by the ESB Award Committee. The purpose of
the Travel Awards is to allow researchers with
limited financial resources to participate at the
biennial ESB Congresses. Any ESB member with
limited financial resources who has shown a solid
interest in biomechanics and who has an accepted
paper at the biennial ESB Congress is eligible.
The Award consists of a certificate and an amount
of 400 € towards their travel and meeting
expenses. To this purpose funds will be provided
by the ESB Treasurer. For consideration, the
candidate must submit an electronic application
to the Chairman of the Award Committee including
the officially submitted paper to the ESB
Congress; the applicant's curriculum vitae and
list of publications; one letter of support
carrying an electronic signature from a senior
scientist in biomechanics who has knowledge of
the applicant's capabilities. The deadline for
application for a ESB Travel Award will be February 1, 2008.

More information on the ESB Award Program can be found here:

To view Past-Awardees please visit: