No announcement yet.

Call for Nominations

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Call for Nominations


    James R. Andrews, M.D. Award for
    Excellence in Baseball Sports Medicine

    Since 1983, Dr. Jim Andrews and associates have conducted an annual course
    on Injuries in Baseball. At the 1994 course, the James R. Andrews, M.D.
    Award for Excellence in Baseball Sports Medicine was inaugurated by Dr.
    Lawrence J. Lemak. Dr. Lemak declared that each year this award would be
    given to an individual or group that has significantly contributed to
    baseball sports medicine. The award was named after Dr. Andrews with the
    intention that future award winners would possess many of Dr. Andrews'
    attributes that have contributed toward his
    success in baseball sports medicine. These attributes include a strong
    desire to help baseball players prevent and recover from injury, working as
    a member
    of a multidisciplinary medical team (physician, trainer, coach, etc.), the
    ability to help the baseball player as a complete person (medical issues,
    emotional issues, work ethic, etc.), and excellent knowledge and skills.
    Consistent with the philosophy that managing the health of baseball players
    involves many different professions, the Andrews Award has already been
    awarded to a physician (James Andrews, M.D., 1994), a biomechanist (Charles
    Dillman, Ph.D., 1995), an athletic trainer (Tommy Craig, A.T.,C., 1996), and
    a coach (Bill Thurston).

    In January, 1998, the award will once again be presented at the Injuries in
    Baseball Conference. If there is someone who you feel should be considered for
    this award, please send your nomination, in writing or email, to:

    Andrews Award Selection Committee
    American Sports Medicine Institute
    Attn: Glenn S. Fleisig, Ph.D.
    1313 13th Street South
    Birmingham, AL 35205
    (fax) 205-918-0800

    Please provide the nominee's name, title, and address, as well as any
    information you feel would support the nominee. Be sure to also include
    your name, address and telephone number. Thank you for your interest in
    helping us identify deserving candidates for this award.

    Deadline: Nominations Must Be Received by MARCH 17, 1997