No announcement yet.

Call for abstracts, AMAM 2019, Adaptive motion in animals and machines, Aug 19-23 201

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Call for abstracts, AMAM 2019, Adaptive motion in animals and machines, Aug 19-23 201

    AMAM 2019, Adaptive Motion in Animals and Machines, Aug 19-23 2019, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

    Call for abstracts and robot demonstrations, deadline March 8th, 2019

    Investigating how animals and humans excel at adaptive movements can help engineers to improve the adaptive capabilities of robots. In return, robots can serve as scientific tools to explore the basic principles of biological systems, in particular the neuromechanical mechanisms underlying their fascinating motor abilities. AMAM 2019 is the 9th international symposium dedicated to stimulate fruitful interactions among biologists and engineers interested in adaptive motion. It aims at bringing together researchers in robotics, biomechanics, neuroscience, sports science, and other fields related to motor behavior in biological and artificial systems. Previous symposia were held in Montreal, Canada (2000); Kyoto, Japan (2003); Ilmenau, Germany (2005); Cleveland, USA (2008); Awaji, Japan (2011); Darmstadt, Germany (2013); Cambridge, USA (2015); and Sapporo, Japan (2017).
    Two-page abstract contributions are invited from all areas pertaining to adaptive motion in animals and machines. Accepted abstracts will be presented in poster sessions. Invited talks will be presented in oral sessions in a single track (see the exciting list of speakers below). We also encourage participants to contribute hardware demonstrations, as part of the ‘Robot Zoo’@AMAM2019. See for instructions.

    Important dates:
    • Jan 18th, 2019 Opening of the extended abstract submission
    • March 8th, 2019 Deadline of extended abstracts submission
    • April 12th, 2019 Notification of acceptance for extended abstracts
    • May 31st, 2019 Deadline of submission for Robot Zoo (Robot Demos)
    • August 19-23, 2019 Conference

    Sponsors: Maxon

    Plenary speakers:
    • Grégoire Courtine, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Monica Daley, Royal Veterinary College, UK
    • Dario Floreano, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Radhika Nagpal, Harvard University, USA
    • Lena Ting, Emory University & Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
    • Herman van der Kooij, University of Twente & Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

    Invited speakers:
    • Shinya Aoi, Kyoto University, Japan
    • David Franklin, Technische Universität München, Germany
    • John Hutchinson, Royal Veterinary College, UK
    • Tetsuya Iwasaki, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
    • Katsu Kagaya, Kyoto University, Japan
    • Sangbae Kim, MIT, USA
    • Megan Leftwich, The George Washington University, USA
    • David Lentink, Stanford University, USA
    • Charlotte Le Mouel, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany
    • Poramate Manoonpong, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
    • Kamilo Melo, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Katja Mombaur, Heidelberg University, Germany
    • Beth Mortimer, University of Oxford, UK
    • Ulrike Müeller, California State University, Fresno, USA
    • Jamie Paik, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Pavan Ramdya, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Chris Richards, Royal Veterinary College, UK
    • Nidhi Seethapathi, University of Pennsylvania, USA
    • Simon Sponberg, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
    • Emily Standen, University of Ottawa, Canada
    • Dagmar Sternad, Northeastern University, USA
    • Barbara Webb, University of Edinburgh, UK
    • Rob Wood, Harvard University, USA
    • Kotaro Yasui, Tohoku University, Japan

    Program Committee:
    • Hitoshi Aonuma, Hokkaido University, Japan
    • Jordan Boyle, Leeds University, UK
    • Monica Daley, Royal Veterinary College, UK
    • Koh Hosoda, Osaka University, Japan
    • Fumiya Iida, Cambridge, UK
    • Auke Ijspeert, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland
    • Akio Ishiguro, Tohoku University, Japan
    • Masato Ishikawa, Osaka University, Japan
    • Takeshi Kano, Tohoku University, Japan
    • Sangbae Kim, MIT, USA
    • Jun Nishii, Yamaguchi University, Japan
    • Dai Owaki, Tohoku University, Japan
    • Andre Seyfarth, TU Darmstadt, Germany
    • Emily Standen, University of Ottawa, Canada
    • Dagmar Sternad, Northeastern University, USA
    • Barry Trimmer, Tufts University, USA
    • Eric Tytell, Tufts University, USA
    • Hartmut Witte, TU Ilmenau, Germany

    Local organization committee:
    • Jonathan Arreguit
    • Alessandro Crespi
    • Florin Dzeladini
    • Peter Eckert
    • Sylvie Fiaux
    • Anne Koelewijn
    • Mehmet Mutlu
    • Laura Páez
    • Amy Wu