Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Marker placement for bilateral shoulder abduction kinematics?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marker placement for bilateral shoulder abduction kinematics?

Hello All,
    I am a second semester PhD student in Movement Science and I have a question on where I should place reflective markers to measure bilateral shoulder abduction kinematics? I plan to place markers at both AC joints, both olecranon, both distal radius and ulna, and on the top of each hand on the third metacarpal. Should I also put markers at the top of the strenum and on C7 to use as references? Thanks in advance for any help on this issue. Ryan

Re: Marker placement for bilateral shoulder abduction kinematics?

Hi,

Maybe you should have a look to ISB recommendations:
    Wu G, Vanderhelm F, Dirkjanveeger H, et al. ISB recommendation on definitions of joint coordinate systems of various joints for the reporting of human joint motion?Part II: shoulder, elbow, wrist and hand. Journal of Biomechanics. 2005;38(5):981-992.
    Available at: http://linkinghub.elsevier.com/retri...2192900400301X

Cheers,

CÚdric

Comment

Hi Ryan,
      We've done quite a bit of upper extremity motion work in our lab. We use the following marker set, along with some custom written code (Matlab) based on the ISB standards to get the kinematics:
      r 2nd metacarpal
      r radial styloid
      r ulnar styloid
      r medial epicondyle
      r lateral epicondyle
      r glenohumeral center of rotation on the posterior shoulder (ie your best estimation of this location by palpation)
      r acromion process
      c7
      t8
      sternal notch
      xyphoid process
      all arm and shoulder markers on the left-hand side too.

this marker set doesn't give you any scapular kinematics, but will give you humerus relative to the trunk.