Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reference Management Software: Mendeley, Endnote, Zotero, Papers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reference Management Software: Mendeley, Endnote, Zotero, Papers?

Hi All,

I'm curious to know your experience and thoughts on reference management software. I have been using Mendeley for the last 2 years but have not tried any other systems. If you have a minute, please reply with:

1) Name of management software you are currently using (or software you are knowledgeable about)

2) Pros of that software

3) Cons of that software

Thanks,
    Pete

Re: Reference Management Software: Mendeley, Endnote, Zotero, Papers?

This is an interesting topic, I am happy to answer.

1) The software I currently use is Zotero plugin for Firefox.

2) The main advantage is related to its plug in functionality and the "one click" working. There may be others like this now, but since the time in which Zotero started I did not stop working with it. As a consequence, more computers can share the same Zotero database within your user account. You can save local versions of the papers, easily copy the information to your clipboard.

3) The cons is probably related to its nature as plugin: not everybody was excited to hear that it was a plugin and moreover its microsoft word plugin also requires a separate installation for the integration with documents, so not completely easy going for some people

Comment

Zotero all the way. I have been using Zotero for many years. (note for Pietro: get the stand alone version, it is fantastic and frees you from the browser).
      Pros: too many to list all, but here are a few:
      As a faculty member, great for working with students. I can create and share folders with students. Collaboration is a breeze.
      Search features. Again awesome. I can find any entry in seconds. No more digging through the file cabinet!