Guidance with Bicycle Fitting Dissertation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guidance with Bicycle Fitting Dissertation

First off please let me thank you for your time, and I will try to keep this as brief as possible. I am a Physical Therapist who is working on trying to finalize a dissertation topic for my Doctor of Health Sciences (DHSc) from the University of St Augustine- Florida. I will be taking my written comprehensives at the end of November.

I have a keen clinical interest in the area of bicycle fitting and would like to pursue research in this area. My current idea for a question looks at the comparing methods for determining reach, the traditional method versus a method based off of anthropometric measures.

While I have help and mentorship on the clinical side, I have run into an issue as this is the Physical Therapist and Bicycle Fitters business. They are reluctant to send a client away with a bicycle fit for which they are not comfortable, as this may jeopardize their business name, and there is also the issue of time and money. Both issues I understand and do not fault them for their reservations.

I am looking for some guidance from someone on the research side who has experience in this area. The DHSc program that I am in is a distance program, I live in Seattle, and the professors at the University of St Augustine are not working or have expertise in the area of bicycle fitting. The help that I hope to get does not have to be face-to-face, email or phone would be perfectly fine.

At this point, I have developed a question that would work around the clinician's issues by just comparing the reach the fitter determines versus one based on the same client's anthropometric data. If a correlation is found, I would then run a regression to develop an equation.