Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filtering issue of GRF data

Hello,

This is Youngmin Chun and I am a doctoral student at the University of Idaho. I have a issue with filtering GRF data while I am processing data. As you can see below, the vGRF data is fluctuating even before the initial contact to the ground after filtering whereas the raw data didn't display it. Also, the magnitude of changes is increased when I changed the order of Butterworth filter from 2nd to 4th order. The signal was filtered using MATLAB, but the same issue appears on V3D as well. It will be a big issue to detect the initial contact if the filtered signal exceeds 20 N (threshold of initial contact). If anyone knows why the signal is changed before the initial contact or how to solve it, please let me know.
    SharedScreenshot1.jpg
    2ndand4thorder.jpg

Re: Filtering issue of GRF data

The reason that your GRF starts changing before heelstrike is that you used a zero-lag filter, so the filter runs twice: forward and then backward in time. This is the standard type of filter and that is not necessarily wrong.

Also, when going backward in time, there is a very sudden change in the first derivative of the GRF, which causes "ringing" of the filter. This is worse in higher order filters, as you already demonstrated. I would use the 2nd order.

If you use the GRF to detect heelstrike, you may want to do it on the raw data, or use a filter that runs forward in time only (Matlab: filter, instead of filtfilt).